A German rose to recall

As I’ve mentioned before in previous posts, when I drink a good cup of coffee I am transported back to other good coffees – not just the drink, but the entire experience.  Like the cup of coffee served on a rickety table by the Moroccan octogenarian inside the blue gate in the old city of Fes, Morocco.  I posted about that coffee experience and still think often of that cup I drank over three years ago.  Read that post here.  Just as coffee transports me, so does a beautiful rose on a bush.  Roses take me to a rainy day in the rose garden on Mainau Island on the border of Switzerland and Germany.

The roses in my front yard are in bloom.  I explored them with my one-year-old this afternoon.  Fortunately, they survived the encounter.

Front yard rose - before.
Front yard rose – before.
Front yard rose- after.
Front yard rose- after.

Every time I see my roses I think of the beautifully manicured rose garden on Mainau Island.  Perhaps it was the location that makes it memorable.  A small island at the foot of the Alps on Lake Constance (Bodensee for Germans) – a romantic, fairytale setting with the gardens and architecture to match.  But the island isn’t reserved for those simply desiring a peaceful stroll down a tree-lined lane.  It is extremely family friendly with an accessible butterfly house, a petting zoo, pony rides, playground and organized nature activities for older children. The paths are graded for wheelchair access which means they are also stroller accessible.  The official website contains fantastic photos as well as all the information you need to plan your visit.  Hopefully my photos from several years ago encourage you to add Mainau Island to your itinerary next time you’re in the region – or at least take time to enjoy the roses in a garden near you.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a comment